My Hopes, Memories and Dreams

Hello world!

My name is Colleen Du Bois. I am 33 years old and I live in Cairns, Tropical North Queensland, Australia.

I grew up in Melbourne, Victoria, the youngest of six siblings. My childhood was a tumultuous one, that centred around a volatile home environment tempered by the moods of an emotionally unpredictable mother. My childhood memories are not joyous and soothing, and for most of my adult life I have willingly let them slip to the back of my “consciousness vault”. There they have withered, but admittedly, not perished forever as I had perhaps hoped. I am aware of their existence and in recent years I have grown to acknowledge that drawing them out occasionally does not have to be scary. For better or worse, these experiences have moulded everything about who I am today.

I moved to Cairns about four years ago from Darwin where I lived for three years. Just as I would never have dreamed I would live in the Northern Territory, I never imagined living in Far North Queensland. The relocation from Melbourne to the Northern cities of Australia and the evolution of my personal life that it would ignite, challenged all I had come to believe and accept about who I was and the world around me. And for that I am so grateful.

Today I am a 33 year old mother of the two most delightful girls on the planet. I believe they have been sent to me to nourish me, to inspire me and to bring joy into my life. We live in a town house that looks out towards the magnificent mountainscape that fringes the city of Cairns. Our couch is the centre of our home. It is where laughs, tears, hopes, frustrations, fears, comfort and sometimes sleep are shared, either voluntarily or with loving inducement.

Much of what I will write here will be about living in Tropical North Queensland as a thirty-something year old woman, mother, sister, aunty, friend and evolving spirit grappling with existence in this life I have chosen. I look forward to sharing the lucid dreamscapes that inhabit my nocturnal consciousness, reflections that arise from contemplative afternoons spent on my ever-sunny balcony, the passions that may unexpectedly rise from the depths within me, and the lows that sometimes grab me from around dark corners.

Leave a Reply

