My Hopes, Memories and Dreams

Bless Me, Oh Mother, for I have Sinned

Bless me Oh Mother, for I have sinned
It has been a lifetime since my last confession
And these are my sins

Forgive me Oh Mother
For I am your child
I am heartily sorry for having offended you
By daring to ask
To be held in your arms
And in your heart

Bless me oh Goddess,
See me bow my head
As I revoke any longing for your approval
I detest all my childish neediness
For I dread the locked gates of heaven
and the pains of hell

Hear my confession, Oh mother
I have been impure of mind and body
For I have looked in my heart
And am no longer afraid

Release me Oh Mother
Watch my spirit soar !
Towards all who are good and deserving
of all my compassion
and all of my love

I firmly resolve
with the help of my inner grace
to honour my choices
to turn fear into love
and to cherish myself for who I am


Amen.

22 responses

  1. Very touching . . . leaves a pain in my heart for the child who asks for forgiveness for wanting love. Also leaves me with a pain for the mother who lacks the capacity to love…

    Very touching poem. Thanks for sharing.

    March 4, 2010 at 4:16 am

    • Hi Cordie, you are correct…in this scenario bother mother and child are deprived of a love that can be so fulfilling to both. Thank you for commenting.

      March 4, 2010 at 10:27 pm

  2. blissbait

    Wow. And You knock another searing/raw/naked/amazing/real/unapologetic piece of Your heart right out of the ballpark!!! Very….Lord….amazing. Thank You for sharing Your soul. Namaste. šŸ™‚

    March 4, 2010 at 5:26 am

  3. Pun not intended, but Holy Cow Colleen. Fantastic poem, fatastic title. In the book following Jam Sandwich. Knock out !!!!!!!

    March 4, 2010 at 5:34 am

    • Thank you Sara. Once the title embedded in my head…I just had to keep rolling it out !

      March 4, 2010 at 10:28 pm

  4. It’s a touching prayer.
    You remember us that our soul it’s much important that everything in this world!
    Thank you for share it,Colleen.

    Have a magnificent day,mon amie! šŸ˜‰

    March 4, 2010 at 9:17 am

  5. Touching poem, I can so relate to this…unfortunately, my egg donor will never fully understand this kind of sentiment.

    Kelley

    March 5, 2010 at 2:25 am

    • Thanks for your comment Kelley,…I’m not quite sure I understand what you mean regarding your egg donor …?

      March 6, 2010 at 6:43 am

  6. What a moving poem, it touched me so deeply.

    March 6, 2010 at 5:34 am

  7. dustus

    “For I dread the locked gates of heaven
    and the pains of hell”
    Those lines powerful, as seems the fear in the child’s mind.
    I think the painful sentiment transforms into a very uplifting poem.

    March 6, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    • Yes you are right, the fear was real…as I’m sure many Catholics will attest ! And, yes..I felt a true sense of freedom and regained power both in concluding the verse the way I did, and in reaching the real-life conclusion…Thanks for visiting !

      March 7, 2010 at 2:45 am

  8. You need a twitter/facebook button on here.

    March 22, 2010 at 10:34 am

    • Hello…! I have a Facebook button. Not a Twitter fan.

      March 22, 2010 at 10:38 am

  9. Amen.

    March 31, 2010 at 12:54 am

  10. Colleen, the shift in the meaning is powerful. A statement of freedom and choice!

    April 1, 2010 at 12:30 am

    • Hi Pamela, Thanks for your visit and comment. Pleased you enjoyed my words !

      April 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm

  11. Pamela Villars said come. I trust her word. So I’m here, and glad. There is an openness to your writing I much appreciate, as this poem here demonstrates. And more than a few poems I’ve written about “mother” too. Thank you. I’ll be back for more.

    April 1, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    • Hello Neil. Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment. How lovely that Pamela directed you here,,,a wonderful compliment ! I look forward to visiting your place too !

      April 1, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

