My Hopes, Memories and Dreams

A Mother’s Voyage

dancing-water-spirits_2143105_sq_thumb_mGiggles of innocence
Bubbling with love
Contagiously foaming
Frothing
…Swirling
Swept up in the swell
of motherly joy

Enter predestined passions
A professional calling
Awash in a whirlpool
Intensity whirring
Riding the waves
of growth and fulfillment

Adrenaline rises
Caught in the rip
of responsibility
Whipped up by moonlight
Madness
Nocturnal drowning
In muddied roles

Calm breaks
Momentary stillness descends
Pressure rising and falling
And rising
…And falling

Silence stems the flow
Providing the compass
to temporary floating
Dreaming
Hoping

Til the dawn tide
Surges
At the birth of the Sun

27 responses

  1. This poem makes me feel what it must be like to be a mother, a particular mother, trying to stay afloat and reach her destination and enjoy the journey!

    August 11, 2009 at 10:41 am

  2. Hey Marstead. Hi Colleen. As I read the poem it reminded me of the photo your previosuly posted–the one here that I can see when I scroll down. Yes parenting is one long ocean journey that never ends. At least it sure feels that way to me. “Providing the compass” is no easy matter these days in this world.
    for now..

    August 11, 2009 at 11:32 am

  3. Hi guys. Thanks for your comments. The feelings of swirling and whirring had me spinning a bit last night as I was trying to fall asleep and well…this was the result ! I was suddenly filled with an appreciation of just how “full” my cup is…full to the brim….spilling over in fact ! And that’s a good thing ! Sometimes it just takes particular effort to wind down and float awhile.

    August 11, 2009 at 11:59 am

  4. YES–this is it, this is parenthood. It takes a strong swimmer to survive, navigate the rip tides and float on those gentle swells. Love this, Colleen. Love it!

    August 11, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    • Thank you so much. I’m so loving this wonderful forum of sharing ! So new to me still but so gently fulfilling.

      August 11, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      • It is wonderful, isn’t it? I’m fairly new myself and am still amazed at the kindness of this wonderful community. So happy to include you among them:)

        August 11, 2009 at 2:23 pm

  5. wonderful poem

    and what a wonderful professional calling you have!

    wishing you more wonderful experiences in your voyage as a mother!

    cheers!

    August 11, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    • Hello,

      Thank you for your comment and for stopping by my blog. Over to yours now to check it out….

      Colleen

      August 12, 2009 at 2:43 am

  6. A delicious carousel of feelings, of words. Well done!

    August 11, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    • Thanks. I was having editing problems and have now fixed it due to the help of the wonderful WordPress Support people ! I like it so much better in verses 🙂

      August 12, 2009 at 1:53 am

  7. Oh, perfect picture. That’s great. Just how the stomach feels when you have to make a decision and there’s no one to ask and children to consider. We always doubt ourselves so much. It’s the nature of being female I think. We learn it at our Mum’s (am I sounding Aussie yet) knee.

    August 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm

  8. This was such a nice way to start the morning! Beautiful words! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    August 13, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    • Thank you Bill for your compliment. Happy to share 🙂

      August 13, 2009 at 2:05 pm

  9. i enjoyed this piece (: it captured all those feelings of motherhood.

    August 14, 2009 at 11:35 am

  10. Another fine one, Colleen.

    I like the way you start calm, and then build
    the crescendo before winding it down.

    And you’ve made me appreciate being a father.

    August 16, 2009 at 2:14 pm

  11. To my mind it also follows the whole life cycle.

    Very glad I found your blog Colleen. Thanks for visiting my blog and letting me know about you.

    August 19, 2009 at 7:50 am

    • Thanks Marilyn for your lovely comment ! Likewise, I’m glad to have stumbled upon yours.

      August 19, 2009 at 7:59 am

  12. Great poem thanks for sharing

    November 8, 2009 at 5:35 am

  13. A lovely poem Colleen. It shows the true turbulence of being a parent, especially a mother.

    The accompany picture is beautiful too.

    February 7, 2010 at 4:00 pm

  14. Oops! That should read ‘accompanying’.

    February 7, 2010 at 4:01 pm

  15. Three times is a charm. As good as the first time I read it! Did you take the header photo? It’s stunning.

    February 8, 2010 at 3:11 am

    • Thanks Sara. No I found the photo in a google search in an advertisement for Cairns. It is stunning and truly represents the magnificent beach sunsets we are spoilt with.

      February 10, 2010 at 5:58 am

  16. Oh, how we missed the works of your soul!

    February 8, 2010 at 3:34 am

  17. It’s very beautiful the poem that you wrote it,my friend,and picture that you chose it into your post too 🙂
    10X for share it again! 🙂

    Have a special day!

    February 8, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    • You have a great day too !!! Thanks for visiting. I will pop over to your place soon.

      February 10, 2010 at 5:59 am

Leave a Reply

