My Hopes, Memories and Dreams

A Thank You Note to Memory

Memory
Oh Memories…
Where do you hide ?
I sense your presence …Lurking
At the corners of my mind
Stealthily I creep
Feel the slowing of my breath
Ready to pounce
When your shadow takes a rest

I blink and you are gone
Trails of confusion
Litter your space
Yet I still feel you in my cells
        In my bones
                    And on my face

You are the most faithful play mate
Of this game that has no end
The rules remain unwritten
Tactics rehearsed so well…
You know I’ll never catch you
And I know …

You’ll never tell

24 responses

  1. that’s a beautiful piece.

    February 20, 2010 at 10:39 am

    • Hello ! Thank you for taking the time to comment ! Such feedback is always valued.

      February 20, 2010 at 10:43 am

  2. I loved this – the way you use words is amazing. How do you come up with such wonderful ways of blending analogy and description? Awesome!

    In a funny twist – your last line reminds me of “What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas,” LOL. Memories are surely ephemeral and you capture that quality so well.

    (btw, thanks for you comment, hon. i’m still here; starting to feel a build up of words again… maybe I’ll post in the next couple of days… thanks for being there 🙂

    ~April

    February 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    • Well the first few words usually come just as I am drifting off to sleep, then I just HAVE to jump out of bed, leap downstairs and see them on the screen. This time however the thoughts floated in on Sat morning whilst I was in the shower ! Go figure ! Yes its definitely a “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” kinda thing !

      Glad you like it. Take your time…I think many of us needed a break and time to re-evaluate over the Christmas / New Year break…there’s something about 2010… 🙂

      February 21, 2010 at 3:15 am

  3. blissbait

    WHOA!!!! This is one of my favourites. Wonderful. LOVING this! Thank You! Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    February 21, 2010 at 2:55 am

    • ha Ha ! Love your reaction Bliss ! Thank you ox

      February 21, 2010 at 3:16 am

      • blissbait

        Hey. Just stopped by and read it again. You know, I have a couple of memories that I can’t quite catch. I spend years trying to cage them and open them up. NOPE. They’d flirt JUST enough to let me know they were there, but NOPE. That’s why I’m cowrazy about Your last couple of lines. You nailed it!!!! Brilliant! Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

        February 23, 2010 at 7:07 am

  4. Wonderful piece. totally loved it 🙂

    February 21, 2010 at 10:03 am

  5. Greetings once more, firstly I do feel the new blue template is soothing and springlike a warm place of hope and freshness..

    Our memories are so selective don’t you think? there are countless indeed yet we pick & choose at will or they’ll just pop up and pinch us on the nose.. have you ever tried to go as far back in time as pos? I wonder if memory tripping is good for the brain.. does it make it function better by flipping switches.. does it re-connect those neuro sparks.. and then there are the memories that we keep locked away under lock & key, oh they’re lurking too but we better shove them back into pandoras box, turn the key and shuffle away.. but when you start sifting too much then you’re not living life as it is now.. so just like chocolate or whiskey a little fix now and again is probably preferable.. but what do I know.. indulge yourself as long as you’re holding the power of the recollections at arms length of the ones which have teeth.. some of them bite you whilst some of them caress you..

    February 21, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    • Hello Tigercity ! Thanks …yes I’m loving the new template. I love the transparent feel…

      Oh memory is so complex and facinating isn’t it ? Particularly long term memory which I have been thinking about lately in relation to the “childhood memories” some of which take major excavation work to dig out and yet others which I have obviously identified as meaningful experiences I appear to have consciously kept close to the surface.

      What do you mean by “…as far back in time as pos” ?(Have been sitting here trying to transcribe the acronym with no luck !!!) Do you mean pre-birth ? If so, I did recently embark on some “regression” work…a facinating experience and one which I should probably write about soon.

      I love your analogy of memories as a “little fix”, not to be indulged in large quantities ! Yes, some fit exactly in that category ! You could write a poem about it 🙂

      February 22, 2010 at 1:18 am

      • by “as far back in time as pos” = as possible.. meaning simply that I have tried to recall my earliest memories.. how old was I, what was going on, who was around.. ? I’ve never had or even thought abt regression therapy but it does sound intruiging.. I did learn at university that you can trigger vivid memories by activating the neurons in the brain.. this means that in fact we have a ‘hard disk’ of everything we’ve ever experienced or seen..

        However as regards pre-birth well I’d be out of my depth.. we’re getting into the ‘soul’ subject again (from another entry) and you know more than I do on this..

        I’ll pocket the poem tip though… xx

        February 25, 2010 at 12:59 am

  6. You describe it so right, my friend! I love the new poem. It reminds me that the past is there and that we can’t change anything…only the future maybe we still can do something to make it better 🙂 Memories from our childhood or a conversation from the past or a song or a simple flower that meant something for us.
    Thank you for share it with us! 😉

    Have a magnificent week, my friend! 🙂

    February 22, 2010 at 8:59 am

    • Hello Lovely ! Thank you for showering my words with happy appreciation as always ! It always lifts my spirits to tsee he flag from Picardie, France arrive in my blog traffic feed !

      February 22, 2010 at 10:38 am

  7. This is a lovely poem Colleen. I like your new blog design too, very colourful and professional looking. 🙂

    February 22, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    • Hi Paul, Thank you. Yes I fell in love with the template as soon as I saw it !

      February 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

  8. This poem is one of your very best, Coleen. You are so gifted in your expression.
    I suppressed childhood memories in order to survive; it is probably the same with you.:) I’ve decided that maybe the specifics of the memories don’t matter, that it’s the acceptance and understanding that matters.
    Would love to hear about your regression experiences. My therapist regressed me back to the moments before birth and I DID NOT WANT TO COME. I had chosen my life’s road and knew it would be painful, and wanted out of it at the last second. Didn’t matter–I was to be born. And now, of course, I’m grateful, mostly because of all the love I’ve shared with others. Keep on keepin’ on, dear girl.
    Pam

    February 23, 2010 at 7:35 am

    • Hello Pam,

      Thank you so much. Yes the “repressed memories” of childhood is what inspired the thought processes of this poem. I have been attempting to gather more childhood memories and impressions to add to my collection of stories and find that much still alludes me.

      I think we may have chatted somewhere about the past life regression experiences before…but YES that was EXACTLY my sensation…that I did not want to enter this life. I knew also I’d chosen a difficult path and thought why would I want to leave where I am …where all is blissfull ? Thank you. You have prompted me…I will write about it….maybe tonight. It was facinating ! Thanks for your love and support as always. Hope you are well ! oxo

      February 23, 2010 at 7:50 am

  9. Great writing!Keep it up!!

    February 24, 2010 at 10:30 am

    • THANK YOU AND YOU TO!!!!!!!!!!!!

      February 24, 2010 at 10:31 am

      • LOL ! Thank YOU kooky daughter !

        February 24, 2010 at 10:33 am

  10. I love how the image beside the poem complements the feeling I get from reading it!

    February 25, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    • Thank you ! Yes, it’s perfect isn’t it ? I love Google Images !

      February 26, 2010 at 2:04 am

  11. Hello again! 🙂 Hey, Collen,
    that was really, really good!
    And, I’ll never forget you.

    The butterfly pair is awesome!!!

    Cheerz! UT

    February 27, 2010 at 1:09 am

Leave a Reply

