My Hopes, Memories and Dreams

The morning after.

girl in mirror

Looking at the sixteen year-old girl who stared back at me from the mirror atop the old white dresser, I felt a tremendous sense of compassion. She was alright after all…fairly pretty really, with a curvaceous figure and long auburn hair. The corners of her mouth turned ever so slightly upwards and her shoulders dropped as she let out a long deep sigh. It was a sigh of relief. Freedom. Sure, she looked pretty daggy this morning in fleecy tracksuit pants two sizes too big and an old faded white t-shirt, with a pattern across the front which was now undiscernible. But that was forgivable. After all, packing clothes when she left had not been a priority. So the clothes she now wore had been delivered by the police on behalf of her older sister, who had thrown together a bag for her that night she left her parents home forever. “Your not so bad after all” I told her. It was important to let her know this. She needed to hear it. And I felt satisfied as I saw a glimmer of hope shine through her eyes.

It was at this point that my ever-evolving journey towards self-love and acceptance began.

2 responses

  1. I’ve always heard that Australia has the very BEST people. What I’ve heard is obviously true. How beautifully you write. What sadness, what joy. Heard also you can’t have one unless you are willing to experience the other. Read White Oleander by Janet Fitch many years ago that had an interesting line “no one becomes an artist because they want to.” Have you started carrying a notebook with you everywhere you go? Thank you so much for coming to visit. I will be back.

    July 25, 2009 at 1:21 pm

  2. Thank you so much for your lovely comments ! I truly appreciate you taking the time. I have only just started “allowing” myself the time to indulge in the pleasure of writing…sometimes difficult to achieve amidst the routine of work and family, but I am determined.

    Thank you again Sara,

    You made my heart skip this morning !

    Colleen

    July 25, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Leave a Reply

